Shamir Pratell
Bullying Survivor
Male | Los Angeles, CA   United States
American Muslim
Bullying Type: Physical / Emotional
Posted By: Shamirp
4/12/12 11:47 AM
4.0 star rating
634,544 votes
Login to rate this story
Stories: 1 | Jump to Story:
Views: 19,461,861 | Email Story Anonymously

I am an American Muslim and I have lived in America with my family for my entire life. My father owned a few shops in the city of Los Angeles and provided for our entire family. That all changed once Spetember 11 2001 attacks on America took place. Once they found out who was responsible I remember the next few months were very scary for me and my family. We had bricks thrown through our business windows and our home windows. They would graffiti racial slurs and curse us when we were walking down the street. This happened to my sister and I while we were in school too. As if I was directly to blame for the towers being brought down. Many times I would come home crying because all of my friends had turned against me in such a short time. My father would always tell me to keep my head up and move forward and never let them put you down. That is exactly what I did. I went on to graduate with a 4.3 GPA and was accepted in UCLA. I finished college and got my degree and now I am proud to say that I operate a successful clothing line and I am the one who takes care of my family now. It would have never been possible if I let the bullies get the best of me and that is what I know I can do anything that I want now if I just keep my head up and move forward.



Proof of Story

No proof images submitted yet.

No proof audio submitted yet.

No proof video submitted yet.

Comments
Posted By: koolkat | 4/16/12 2:59 PM
It is sad that American muslims were victims of hate crimes after 9/11 and I am sorry you had to lose friends over something so awful
Story Details


Name: Shamir Pratell
Age: 33
Country: United States
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Gender: Male
Zodiac Sign: N/A
Maiden Name: N/A
Relationship Status: N/A
Profession: Other
Education level: Bachelors degree
University: N/A
Ethnicity: N/A
Hair Color: N/A
Eye Color: N/A
Height: N/A
Weight: N/A
Tattoos: No

Chat: Enter